2018 Ford Explorer
Change

2018 Ford Explorer oil capacity and oil type by engine

US quarts by engine, quoted from the Ford owner's manual with the page for each figure. Coverage is limited to the named configurations.

EngineOil capacityOil gradeWithout filter changeSource
2.3L I4 Turbo2.3L EcoBoost5.7 US qtwith filterSAE 5W-30Not statedWith-filter capacity: printed p. 350, PDF p. 353Engine-specific SAE and Ford specification: printed p. 351, PDF p. 354
Source note

The 2.3L EcoBoost takes 5.7 US qt (5.4 L), not the V6's 6 US qt. Ford labels this quantity with the oil filter. Confirm the level on level ground with the engine warmed, switched off and allowed to settle for 15 minutes; wipe and reinsert the dipstick, then check between MIN and MAX. See printed p. 289, PDF p. 292. This reference covers the named gasoline engine, not a 3.7L Police Interceptor Utility or another model year. Extreme-cold alternatives have separate engine-specific requirements in the manual.

Checked 2026-09-30. Market: U.S. and Canada; named 2018 Explorer gasoline engine.
Estimate oil-change cost
3.5L V63.5L Duratec6 US qtwith filterSAE 5W-20Not statedWith-filter capacity: printed p. 354, PDF p. 357Engine-specific SAE and Ford specification: printed p. 355, PDF p. 358
Source note

The naturally aspirated 3.5L Duratec uses SAE 5W-20; the 3.5L EcoBoost uses SAE 5W-30 despite sharing the same 6 US qt capacity. Ford labels this quantity with the oil filter. Confirm the level on level ground with the engine warmed, switched off and allowed to settle for 15 minutes; wipe and reinsert the dipstick, then check between MIN and MAX. See printed p. 289, PDF p. 292. This reference covers the named gasoline engine, not a 3.7L Police Interceptor Utility or another model year. Extreme-cold alternatives have separate engine-specific requirements in the manual.

Checked 2026-09-30. Market: U.S. and Canada; named 2018 Explorer gasoline engine.
Estimate oil-change cost
3.5L V6 Turbo3.5L EcoBoost6 US qtwith filterSAE 5W-30Not statedWith-filter capacity: printed p. 359, PDF p. 362Engine-specific SAE and Ford specification: printed p. 360, PDF p. 363
Source note

The turbocharged 3.5L EcoBoost uses SAE 5W-30; do not substitute the naturally aspirated Duratec's SAE 5W-20 specification. Ford labels this quantity with the oil filter. Confirm the level on level ground with the engine warmed, switched off and allowed to settle for 15 minutes; wipe and reinsert the dipstick, then check between MIN and MAX. See printed p. 289, PDF p. 292. This reference covers the named gasoline engine, not a 3.7L Police Interceptor Utility or another model year. Extreme-cold alternatives have separate engine-specific requirements in the manual.

Checked 2026-09-30. Market: U.S. and Canada; named 2018 Explorer gasoline engine.
Estimate oil-change cost

Explorer oil capacity in other years

At a glance

2018 Ford Explorer reference

Use the summary to orient yourself, then open the exact engine, drivetrain and source record below.

Combined MPG18-22EPA range
EPA configurations7Engine and drivetrain records
Model campaigns7NHTSA records
NHTSA safety5/5Highest overall rating

2018 Ford Explorer Oil Capacity and Oil Type

2018 Ford Explorer Wheel Torque Specs

Lug nut size

Not published

Transmission capacity

Not published

Power steering fluid

Not published

2018 Ford Explorer Spark Plugs and Battery

Spark plug gap

Not published

Battery group

Not published

2018 Ford Explorer Towing Capacity

Towing capacity

Not published

Payload capacity

Not published

2.3L EcoBoost manufacturer references

2018 Ford Explorer Owner's Manual Accessed 2026-09-05

2018 Ford Explorer MPG by engine and drivetrain

EPA combined ratings run from 18 to 22 mpg across 7 configurations. Match the engine, transmission and drivetrain in the table before comparing fuel costs.

EPA fuel economy, annual fuel cost and tailpipe CO₂
Configuration / engineCityHighwayCombinedAnnual fuelCO₂
Explorer 2WD FFV3.5L 6-cylinder · Automatic (S6) · Front-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record17 mpg24 mpg20 mpg$3,100455 g/mi
Explorer FWD2.3L 4-cylinder turbo · Automatic (S6) · Front-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record19 mpg27 mpg22 mpg$2,800409 g/mi
Explorer FWD3.5L 6-cylinder · Automatic (S6) · Front-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record17 mpg24 mpg20 mpg$3,100453 g/mi
Explorer AWD FFV3.5L 6-cylinder · Automatic (S6) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record16 mpg22 mpg18 mpg$3,400483 g/mi
Explorer AWD2.3L 4-cylinder turbo · Automatic (S6) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record18 mpg25 mpg21 mpg$2,950429 g/mi
Explorer AWD3.5L 6-cylinder · Automatic (S6) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record16 mpg22 mpg19 mpg$3,250480 g/mi
Explorer AWD3.5L 6-cylinder turbo · Automatic (S6) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record16 mpg22 mpg18 mpg$3,400486 g/mi
U.S. EPA FuelEconomy.gov vehicle dataset Accessed 2026-09-05

Annual fuel figures are the EPA snapshot at the source date. The calculator below uses the separately dated fuel-price record and your inputs, so the estimates may differ.

2018 Ford Explorer annual fuel cost calculator

Start with the combined MPG for 3.5L 6-cylinder, Automatic (S6), Front-Wheel Drive. Replace it with your measured gas mileage and local pump price for a personal budget.

Estimated result$2,524.20

Formula annual miles ÷ MPG × gasoline price

Fuel cost per mile equals gasoline price divided by MPG. Multiply by your annual mileage for a yearly fuel budget. Add maintenance to estimate cost per mile. For a specific journey, budget a road trip and settle passenger shares.

2018 Ford Explorer recall campaigns

NHTSA returned 7 model-level campaign records as of 2026-09-04. A campaign record does not establish whether your vehicle is affected or whether a repair is outstanding. Check your VIN through NHTSA.

SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:RECLINER · 19V633000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2018-2020 F-150 and 2019-2020 F-250, F-350, F-450, and F-550 Super Duty pickup trucks, and 2018-2019 Ford Explorer, 2019-2020 Expedition, and 2020 Escape vehicles equipped with driver and/or passenger's manual front seat back recliner mechanisms. Also included are certain 2020 Ford Explorer and Lincoln Aviator vehicles equipped with rear outboard seats and manual seat back recliner mechanisms. The recliner mechanisms may be missing the third pawl required for seat back strength, resulting in a loose seat back. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) numbers 202, "Head Restraints" and 207, "Seating Systems."

Remedy: Ford will notify owners, and Ford and Lincoln dealers will inspect the seat structure and replace them, as necessary, free of charge. The recall began October 21, 2019. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 19C07.

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE · 18V807000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2018 Ford Explorer vehicles equipped with 2.3L or 3.5L GTDI engine. Due to an assembly error, the fuel pressure sensor may leak fuel.

Remedy: Ford will notify owners, and dealers will replace the fuel line assembly, free of charge. The recall began December 7, 2018. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 18S35.

STRUCTURE:BODY · 21V316000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Explorer vehicles. The retention pins could loosen and allow the roof rail covers to detach from the vehicle.

Remedy: Dealers will install push-pins and replace any damaged rail clips and roof rail covers, as necessary, free of charge. The interim owner notification letter was mailed on June 22, 2021. Owner notification letters (remedy available) were mailed on October 1, 2021. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 21S22.

STRUCTURE:BODY:ROOF AND PILLARS · 24V031000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2011-2019 Explorer vehicles. The A-pillar trim retention clips may not be properly engaged, allowing the trim to detach.

Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the A-pillar trim as necessary, free of charge. This will be a phased campaign, with the remedy becoming available in different phases based on model years. Owner notification letters were mailed between July 18, 2024 and December 16, 2025. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 24S02.

EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:ENGINE BLOCK HEATER · 25V685000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Lincoln MKC, 2016-2023 Explorer, 2019-2020 Fusion, 2019-2024 Ranger, 2020-2022 Lincoln Corsair, Escape, 2021-2024 Bronco, Bronco Sport, and 2022-2024 Maverick vehicles. The engine block heater may crack and develop a coolant leak, causing it to short circuit when the block heater is plugged in.

Remedy: Owners are advised not to plug in their block heater until the vehicle is remedied. Dealers will replace the block heater, free of charge. Owners will also have a alternative option to replace engine block heater element with a threaded blanking plug, and remove the block heater electrical cord. Interim letters, notifying owners of the safety risk, were mailed December 3, 2025. Additional letters will be sent once the final remedy is available, anticipated September 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25SA4. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on October 15, 2025.

SUSPENSION:REAR · 26V101000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Explorer vehicles. The rear suspension toe links may fracture.

Remedy: Dealers will replace the toe links, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed on March 16, 2026. Owners may contact Ford Customer Service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S08. This recall is an expansion of previous NHTSA recall number 21V537. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will be searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning February 25, 2026.

STRUCTURE:BODY · 26V448000

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Explorer vehicles. The roof rail covers may come loose and detach from the vehicle.

Remedy: Dealers will inspect the roof rail covers and as necessary, repair or replace the push-pins, rail clips, or roof rail covers, free of charge. Interim letters, notifying owners of the safety risk, were mailed August 28, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the remedy is available, anticipated in January 2027. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S54. This recall expands previous NHTSA recall number 21V316. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 16, 2026.

NHTSA Recalls API Accessed 2026-09-04

Decode a VIN and open the official recall check

2018 Ford Explorer NHTSA safety ratings

NHTSA ratings by tested vehicle variant
VehicleOverallFrontSideRollover
2018 Ford Explorer 4 DR SUV AWD5/55/55/54/5
2018 Ford Explorer 4 DR SUV FWD5/55/55/54/5
NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings API Accessed 2026-09-05

Confirm the engine, tire package and service procedure

Match your engine and transmission with the configuration selector. Check the door-jamb tire label for your installed wheel package and cold pressure. A capacity is not a substitute for the filling procedure in the owner's manual; transmission change quantities and total system capacities can describe different jobs.

Fields marked Not published have no compiled value here. They do not mean zero capacity, no maintenance requirement or permission to substitute a part. Request a specification correction with the exact year, engine and manufacturer reference.

Frequently asked questions

How much oil does a 2018 Ford Explorer take?
2.3L EcoBoost: 5.7 US qt with filter; SAE 5W-30. 3.5L Duratec: 6 US qt with filter; SAE 5W-20. 3.5L EcoBoost: 6 US qt with filter; SAE 5W-30.
What type of oil does the 2018 Ford Explorer take?
SAE 5W-30 (2.3L turbo); SAE 5W-20 (3.5L); SAE 5W-30 (3.5L turbo). Specification: Ford WSS-M2C946-B1 / API SN; Ford WSS-M2C945-B1 / API SN. Use the grade printed in your owner's manual or on the oil filler cap.
Does the 2018 Ford Explorer oil capacity include the filter?
Yes. These are the owner's manual's with-filter amounts. Check the dipstick after filling.
What tire size and wheel torque does the 2018 Ford Explorer use?
2.3L EcoBoost: tire size not published; 100 ft-lb. 3.5L Duratec: tire size not published; 100 ft-lb. 3.5L EcoBoost: tire size not published; 100 ft-lb.
What is the 2018 Ford Explorer gas mileage?
EPA combined ratings run from 18 to 22 mpg across 7 configurations. Match the engine, transmission and drivetrain in the table before comparing fuel costs.
Are these real-world MPG figures for the Explorer?
These are EPA ratings, not owner-reported mileage. Use your measured MPG in the calculator to estimate your own fuel budget. The configuration table keeps city, highway and combined ratings separate.
Does the 2018 Ford Explorer have recalls?
NHTSA returned 7 model-level campaign records as of 2026-09-04. A campaign record does not establish whether your vehicle is affected or whether a repair is outstanding. Check your VIN through NHTSA.
Does annual fuel cost include servicing or insurance?
No. The EPA cost and the calculator cover fuel only. Use the cost-per-mile calculator to add a maintenance allowance. Insurance, depreciation, finance costs and registration are separate ownership expenses.

Compare similar vehicles

Sources and record dates

U.S. EPA FuelEconomy.gov vehicle dataset Accessed 2026-09-05U.S. EIA public gasoline price table Accessed 2026-09-05NHTSA Recalls API Accessed 2026-09-04NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings API Accessed 2026-09-052018 Ford Explorer Owner's Manual Accessed 2026-09-05

How we compile specifications and calculate running costs

Last updated