U.S. vehicle reference
2018 Subaru Outback Oil Capacity and Oil Type by Engine
The 2018 Subaru Outback takes 5.1 quarts of SAE 0W-20 with a filter change (2.5L); or 6.9 quarts of SAE 5W-30 with a filter change (3.6L), according to the Subaru owner's manual.
Quoted from the Subaru owner's manual with page numbers. Figures online often conflict because they mix engines or with- and without-filter amounts, so match your engine first.
Compiled by Uzman Munib · Record updated · Source and review standards
2018 Subaru Outback oil capacity and oil type by engine
US quarts by engine, quoted from the Subaru owner's manual with the page for each figure. Coverage is limited to the named configurations.
| Engine | Oil capacity | Oil grade | Without filter change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5L H4 FB252.5L AWD CVT | 5.1 US qtwith filter | SAE 0W-20 | Not stated | Oil and filter capacity: owner manual section 12-5Oil grade: U.S. quick guide p. 27, PDF p. 29Source noteThe U.S. quick guide confirms the capacity and grade; the Subaru Canada owner-manual viewer identifies the quantity as an oil-and-filter change. The 2.5L calls for 0W-20 synthetic oil. Checked 2026-09-30. Market: U.S. quick guide; Canadian owner-manual viewer corroboration. |
| 3.6L H6 EZ363.6L AWD CVT | 6.9 US qtwith filter | SAE 5W-30 | Not stated | Oil and filter capacity: owner manual section 12-6Oil grade: U.S. quick guide p. 27, PDF p. 29Source noteThe U.S. quick guide confirms the capacity and grade; the Subaru Canada owner-manual viewer identifies the quantity as an oil-and-filter change. The 3.6L calls for 5W-30. The owner manual permits conventional oil or synthetic oil for this engine. Checked 2026-09-30. Market: U.S. quick guide; Canadian owner-manual viewer corroboration. |
At a glance
2018 Subaru Outback reference
Use the summary to orient yourself, then open the exact engine, drivetrain and source record below.
Engine oil capacity
5.1 qt with filter
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Oil type
SAE 0W-20 synthetic
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30OE tire size
225/65R17 102H, 225/60R18 100H
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-302018 Subaru Outback Oil Capacity and Oil Type
Oil capacity
5.1 qt with filter
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Oil type
SAE 0W-20 synthetic
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Oil specification
API SN Resource Conserving or ILSAC GF-5
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Oil filter
Not published
2018 Subaru Outback Tire Size and Pressure
OE tire sizes
225/65R17 102H, 225/60R18 100H
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Bolt pattern
Not published
2018 Subaru Outback Wheel Torque Specs
Lug nut size
Not published
Fluids
Transmission capacity
12.4 qt
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Transmission fluid
Consult Subaru dealer
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Coolant type
SUBARU Super Coolant
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Brake fluid
FMVSS No. 116 DOT 3 or DOT 4
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-30Power steering fluid
Not published
Differential fluid
SUBARU Extra MT or API GL-5 SAE 75W-90
Source
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer referencesAccessed 2026-09-05, 2026-09-302018 Subaru Outback Spark Plugs and Battery
Spark plug gap
Not published
2018 Subaru Outback Towing Capacity
Payload capacity
Not published
Service Intervals
Compare service intervals| Item | Months | Miles |
|---|---|---|
| Tire rotation | Not published | 7,500 |
2.5L AWD CVT manufacturer references
2018 Subaru Outback Owner's Manual — Specifications Accessed 2026-09-052018 Subaru Outback U.S. Quick Guide, engine oil p. 27 Accessed 2026-09-302018 Subaru Outback MPG by engine and drivetrain
EPA combined ratings run from 22 to 28 mpg across 2 configurations. Match the engine, transmission and drivetrain in the table before comparing fuel costs.
| Configuration / engine | City | Highway | Combined | Annual fuel | CO₂ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outback AWD2.5L 4-cylinder · Automatic (AV-S7) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record | 25 mpg | 32 mpg | 28 mpg | $2,200 | 320 g/mi |
| Outback AWD3.6L 6-cylinder · Automatic (AV-S6) · All-Wheel Drive · Regular GasolineEPA configuration record | 20 mpg | 27 mpg | 22 mpg | $2,800 | 398 g/mi |
Annual fuel figures are the EPA snapshot at the source date. The calculator below uses the separately dated fuel-price record and your inputs, so the estimates may differ.
2018 Subaru Outback annual fuel cost calculator
Start with the combined MPG for 2.5L 4-cylinder, Automatic (AV-S7), All-Wheel Drive. Replace it with your measured gas mileage and local pump price for a personal budget.
Formula annual miles ÷ MPG × gasoline price
Fuel cost per mile equals gasoline price divided by MPG. Multiply by your annual mileage for a yearly fuel budget. Add maintenance to estimate cost per mile. For a specific journey, budget a road trip and settle passenger shares.
Budget a transmission service for your confirmed procedure
Calculate drain-and-fill fluid purchases, parts and labor using the refill quantity and cycle count confirmed for your exact transmission. A listed total capacity does not establish the service refill amount.
Plan fuel for a trailer trip
Compare towing MPG scenarios and trip fuel costs after checking configuration, payload and hitch limits. Enter measured towing MPG; the unloaded EPA figure does not predict towing consumption.
2018 Subaru Outback recall campaigns
NHTSA returned 3 model-level campaign records as of 2026-09-04. A campaign record does not establish whether your vehicle is affected or whether a repair is outstanding. Check your VIN through NHTSA.
VISIBILITY:REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES · 18V935000
Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2018 Legacy, Outback, and BRZ vehicles. In the affected vehicles, a software issue may cause the audio display system to not initialize, resulting in the camera display remaining blank. If this occurs, the rearview image will not display while backing up the vehicle. As a result, the vehicles fail to comply with requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety (FMVSS) number 111, "Rearview Mirrors."
Remedy: Subaru has notified owners, and dealers will reprogram the audio system display software, free of charge. The recall began on February 5, 2019. Owners may contact Subaru customer service at 1-844-373-6614. Subaru's number for this recall is WTZ-85.
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:SOFTWARE · 18V773000
Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2018 Subaru Legacy and Outback vehicles. Due to a software error, the low fuel warning light may not illuminate at the intended remaining fuel level and the miles-to-empty display may incorrectly indicate a positive number despite the tank being empty.
Remedy: Subaru will notify owners, and dealers will reprogram the combination meter software, free of charge. The recall began February 20, 2019. Owners may contact Subaru customer service at 1-844-373-6614. Subaru's number for this recall is WTW-82.
FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP · 21V587000
Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Ascent, 2018 Forester, 2018-2020 Impreza, Legacy, Outback, 2018-2019 BRZ, WRX, and Toyota 86 vehicles. The low-pressure fuel pump inside the fuel tank may fail.
Remedy: Dealers will replace the low-pressure fuel pump, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed September 24, 2021. Subaru and Toyota owners may call customer service at 1-844-373-6614. Subaru's number for this recall is WRG-21.
2018 Subaru Outback NHTSA safety ratings
| Vehicle | Overall | Front | Side | Rollover |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 Subaru Outback SW AWD | 5/5 | 5/5 | 5/5 | 4/5 |
Confirm the engine, tire package and service procedure
Match your engine and transmission with the configuration selector. Check the door-jamb tire label for your installed wheel package and cold pressure. A capacity is not a substitute for the filling procedure in the owner's manual; transmission change quantities and total system capacities can describe different jobs.
Fields marked Not published have no compiled value here. They do not mean zero capacity, no maintenance requirement or permission to substitute a part. Request a specification correction with the exact year, engine and manufacturer reference.
Frequently asked questions
- How much oil does a 2018 Subaru Outback take?
- 2.5L AWD CVT: 5.1 US qt with filter; SAE 0W-20 synthetic. 3.6L AWD CVT: 6.9 US qt with filter; SAE 5W-30.
- What type of oil does the 2018 Subaru Outback take?
- SAE 0W-20 (2.5L); SAE 5W-30 (3.6L). Specification: API SN Resource Conserving or ILSAC GF-5. Use the grade printed in your owner's manual or on the oil filler cap.
- Does the 2018 Subaru Outback oil capacity include the filter?
- Yes. These are the owner's manual's with-filter amounts. Check the dipstick after filling.
- What tire size and wheel torque does the 2018 Subaru Outback use?
- 2.5L AWD CVT: 225/65R17 102H, 225/60R18 100H; 88.5 ft-lb. 3.6L AWD CVT: 225/60R18 100H; 88.5 ft-lb.
- What is the 2018 Subaru Outback gas mileage?
- EPA combined ratings run from 22 to 28 mpg across 2 configurations. Match the engine, transmission and drivetrain in the table before comparing fuel costs.
- Are these real-world MPG figures for the Outback?
- These are EPA ratings, not owner-reported mileage. Use your measured MPG in the calculator to estimate your own fuel budget. The configuration table keeps city, highway and combined ratings separate.
- Does the 2018 Subaru Outback have recalls?
- NHTSA returned 3 model-level campaign records as of 2026-09-04. A campaign record does not establish whether your vehicle is affected or whether a repair is outstanding. Check your VIN through NHTSA.
- Does annual fuel cost include servicing or insurance?
- No. The EPA cost and the calculator cover fuel only. Use the cost-per-mile calculator to add a maintenance allowance. Insurance, depreciation, finance costs and registration are separate ownership expenses.
Compare similar vehicles
Sources and record dates
U.S. EPA FuelEconomy.gov vehicle dataset Accessed 2026-09-05U.S. EIA public gasoline price table Accessed 2026-09-05NHTSA Recalls API Accessed 2026-09-04NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings API Accessed 2026-09-052018 Subaru Outback Owner's Manual — Specifications Accessed 2026-09-052018 Subaru Outback U.S. Quick Guide, engine oil p. 27 Accessed 2026-09-30Last updated